Sunday September 21, 2014
SHEFFIELD star Simon Stead raced to a remarkable victory on home soil in the Premier League Riders’ Championship.

The Window Centre Tigers’ skipper sparked jubilant scenes around Owlerton as he climbed to the top of the rostrum for the first time in the prestigious event.

As has become expected in the PLRC, spectators were treated to some breathtaking action on a dramatic evening.

Yet it was home favourite Stead who held his nerve in a tense Grand Final to come out on top – and he was quick to dedicate the win to the passionate Tigers’ supporters.

Said Stead: “It’s been an amazing day. I’ve got lots of friends and sponsors here, not to mention my family and all the supporters of Sheffield speedway so this is for them.

“I’m a little bit lost for words, it just means so much. Thanks to everyone for their support, especially the Sheffield fans for their backing all year.”

Stead emerged as the early frontrunner as he raced to victories in each of his opening three rides, getting the better of the previously unbeaten Danny King and Richard Lawson in heat 12.

He then recorded his fourth race win in heat 16 after a daredevil move to pass Josh Grajczonek – although the move led to drama after the race as a disgruntled Grajczonek collided with Stead after the race.

The incident forced Grajczonek to withdraw from the meeting whilst Stead also received lengthy treatment having landed heavily on his shoulder.

However, he dusted himself down to book his place directly in the final with a third place in the last of the qualifying heats.

Having been joined in the final by Danny King, Ulrich Ostergaard and Richard Lawson, Stead made a textbook start from the inside to hit the front and hold his nerve to seal an unforgettable triumph.

It was a sensational night for the popular 32 year old as he gave Sheffield supporters something to shout about with a remarkable performance.

QUALIFYING SCORES: Danny King 14, Simon Stead 13, Richard Lawson 11, Craig Cook 10, Ulrich Ostergaard 10, Stuart Robson 10, Lasse Bjerre 8, Kyle Newman 7, Jason Garrity 6, Theo Pijper 6, Matej Kus 6, Nick Morris 6, Josh Grajczonek 5, Steve Worrall 3, Ryan Douglas 3, Morten Risager 2, Nathan Greaves (res) 0, James Sarjeant (res) 0.
SEMI-FINAL: Lawson, Ostergaard, Robson, Cook.
FINAL: Stead, King, Ostergaard, Lawson.


Share This:   Facebook Twitter