Thursday June 05, 2014
SHEFFIELD returned to action with a bang by picking up their first Premier League win of the season.

Skipper Simon Stead flew to a flawless five-ride maximum as Glasgow were sent packing in a battle of the Tigers at Owlerton.

Stead sealed victory when leading home partner Ty Proctor for a 5-1 in heat 13 before an Andre Compton triumph in heat 14 ensured maximum points.

Stead, who provided a perfect finish by winning the finale to complete his full house, received strong support from Leigh Lanham and British Under 21 champion Josh Bates although the youngster was forced to pull up in his final ride due to back pain after a crash while racing for Mildenhall in the National League last weekend.

Proctor earlier claimed his first race win as a Tigers rider while reserve Simon Nielsen scored steadily. Taylor Poole also added 3+1 despite suffering a tapes exclusion and a retirement.

Team boss Joe Screen was delighted with the display after almost three weeks of inactivity.

He said: “It was a good result considering the lads haven’t ridden for so long.

“Simon was terrific and his maximum shows the other riders what they can achieve.

“Leigh was back in good form and Ty got himself sorted in heat 13 after having a few problems.

“Taylor still had bike trouble that we need to get sorted, but I’m pleased with the win.”

Sheffield remain bottom of the league table but have closed to within a point of second-bottom Peterborough.

They quickly turn their attention to the League Cup with a semi-final, first leg at unbeaten Edinburgh tomorrow (Friday).

They could be forced to draft in a guest with Bates set to visit hospital for x-rays on his back.

Screen added: “Edinburgh have clearly put a really good side together and a lot of teams have got thumped up there. We need to make sure we don’t disgrace ourselves.”


SHEFFIELD: Simon Stead 15, Leigh Lanham 9, Josh Bates 8+1, Andre Compton 6+3, Ty Proctor 6+2, Simon Nielson 5, Taylor Poole 3+1.

GLASGOW: Anders Thomsen 14+1, Kevin Wolbert 10, Theo Pijper 6, Christian Henry 5+1, Rafal Konopka 3, Rusty Harrison 2, Kasper Lykke 1+1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter