Thursday August 10, 2023
SHEFFIELD made it four home wins on the spin with an impressive 54-36 victory over Leicester.

The Tru Plant Tigers provided 11 of the 15 race winners as they kicked on particularly strong in the second half.

A bumper crowd was in attendance for the home debut of Tai Woffinden - and the triple World Champion didn’t disappoint as he contributed superbly to a solid all-round display.

Tigers got off to the perfect start when Tobiasz Musielak and Kyle Howarth got a 5-1 over Leicester’s Grand Prix star Max Fricke in the opener.

Lewis Kerr then won Heat Two before Josh Pickering and Adam Ellis combined for a 4-2 in Heat Three.

Woffinden then made a sweet start from the outside to coast to victory in the fourth before Fricke became the first race winner for the visitors in Heat Five.

Musielak made it two from two in the sixth - and Woffinden then followed suit.

The Tigers’ recent recruit was involved in a thrilling tussle with Richie Worrall, but reworked his way to the front before pulling clear in the final stages.

Leicester reduced the gap back down to four with their first heat advantage of the night in Heat Eight.

But the Tigers delivered a deadly response as they seized full control of the fixture.

A straight hat-trick of 5-1s brought the house down - particularly in Heat 11 with a perfect example of team riding as Kerr and Woffinden successfully kept a hard charging Fricke at bay in one of the heats of the season.

Leicester responded with a maximum of their own in Heat 12 before Woffinden and Musielak sealed the two league points in Heat 13.

Pickering blasted around Craig Cook down the back straight of Heat 14 to score a 4-2 with Kerr before Musielak and Woffinden were both denied paid maximums by Fricke in Heat 15.

The Tru Plant Tigers are back in action next Thursday (August 17, 7.30) when they host Peterborough at Owlerton.

SHEFFIELD 54: Tobiasz Musielak 13+1, Tai Woffinden 12+2, Josh Pickering 10+1, Lewis Kerr 7, Kyle Howarth 6+2, Adam Ellis 6+1, Ace Pijper 0.
LEICESTER 36: Max Fricke 10+1, Richie Worrall 7, Craig Cook 4+1, Richard Lawson 4+1, Jason Edwards 4+1, Justin Sedgmen 4, Jake Allen 3+1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter