Friday July 13, 2018
SHEFFIELD gave home track specialists Lakeside a scare on Friday - but eventually missed out on any league points as they suffered a 51-39 defeat.

It’s the closest any side has come to taking anything away from Purfleet this year as the reigning Champs pushed the Hammers all the way.

Nothing could separate the two sides with five races gone, but it was the hosts who took advantage of disqualifications for Charles Wright and Georgie Wood in the sixth to draw first blood.

Tigers eventually fell ten behind, prompting stand-in team boss Laurence Rogers to nominate returning skipper Kyle Howarth, following a recent shoulder injury, as a tactical substitute in Heat 12.

And the Owlerton outfit gained a glimmer of hope as he and American Broc Nicol secured a big 5-1 to reduce the gap back to six.

But the hosts finished strongly with unbeaten home duo Richard Lawson and Nick Morris bagging 5-1s in Heats 13 and 15 to ensure Tigers left empty handed.

Tigers star Broc Nicol said: “There was some real tight racing tonight and we gave it a good go as a team.

“But Lakeside are real strong at home and they came good right towards the end.

“For me I like the tighter racetracks and I think that showed again in my performance.”

Nicol top scored for the Tigers as he produced another eye-catching performance following his arrival last month.

Skipper Howarth also reached double figures as he returned to action for the first time in almost three weeks while James Shanes produced another solid contribution from reserve.

Todd Kurtz and Georgie Wood rode steadily while Charles Wright endured a rare, frustrating night when the Tigers needed their heat-leader to step up to the plate with Lasse Bjerre ruled out through concussion.

Sheffield stage the Top Gun individual meeting at Owlerton on Thursday (July 19, 7.30.)

LAKESIDE 51: Richard Lawson 15, Nick Morris 13+2, Ben Morley 9, Kyle Newman 7+1, Adam Ellis 4, Zach Wajtknecht 3+1, Alfie Bowtell 0.

SHEFFIELD 39: Broc Nicol 11+1, Kyle Howarth 10+1, James Shanes 7+2, Todd Kurtz 6+2, Georgie Wood 4, Charles Wright 1+1, Lasse Bjerre R/R.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter