Thursday May 04, 2017
SHEFFIELD favourite Kyle Howarth pulled off a magnificent result to win the British Semi-Final at Owlerton.

The Tigers skipper was solid throughout and successfully fended off his opponents after dropping just three points all night.

It was another memorable night for the 23-year-old who continued his spectacular run of early season form.

Howarth admits he'd never really thought about winning the event but is already looking forward to the British Final at Belle Vue on June 19.

Said Howarth: "There was a lot of pressure on me tonight because I was on my home track.

"There was a lot of expectation too but to be honest I'd tried to ignore all of that.

"All I was focused on was making sure I qualified. In the end it worked out even more perfectly because my performance was good enough to earn the win on the night so of course I'm pleased.

"It was a very tough field, so I've definitely had to work for it but I'm really happy.

"It's another marker I've thrown down now and while I've got plenty of meetings between now and then, I can't wait to get to that British Final and show what I can do!"

Howarth opened with two straight race victories before rounding off his night with three consecutive second places, clinching the top score in heat 18.

Seven time British Champion Scott Nicholls finished runner-up while Belle Vue and Workington man Craig Cook snatched the final rostrum place on countback.

Chris Harris, Josh Auty and Lewis Kerr were the other automatic qualifiers while Lewis Bridger and Stuart Robson came through the run-off for the final two places after Carl Wilkinson was excluded following a nasty crash on bend four.

There was disappointment for Tigers duo Josh Bates and Rob Branford who failed to qualify, while local youngster Jack Parkinson-Blackburn gained three unexpected rides as track reserve following a number of two minute exclusions and the withdrawal of Adam Ellis.

The Tigers return to SGB Championship action next Thursday when they host Redcar at Owlerton.

Kyle Howarth 12, Scott Nicholls 11, Craig Cook 10, Chris Harris 10, Josh Auty 10, Lewis Kerr 10, Lewis Bridger 9, Stuart Robson 9, (After run-off - Top eight qualify for British Final) Carl Wilkinson 9, Edward Kennett 8, Stefan Nielsen 7, Josh Bates 5, Simon Lambert 5, Robert Branford 3, Adam Roynon 2, Adam Ellis 0, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn (reserve) 0, Joe Lawlor (reserve) 0.


Share This:   Facebook Twitter